Tell me More, Good Sister, No Hurry in Life…

March 3, 2008

Ghana gives new meaning to the concept of bumper stickers. Every taxi, tro-tro, bus, and truck has phrases in big letters painted on the front or taped to a windshield. Many are religous, and most are cryptically philosophical, like the ones in the title. It is like naming a boat, but more poetic. What would you write on the windshield of your tro-tro?

Tamale is filled with Muslims and motorcycles. There is one main road through town and the pace of life is slower than in the South. This is very important because it is extremely hot. I treated myself to a chocolate bar yesterday and it almost melted before I could finish it. (This is miraculous given my chocolate eating speed and capacity.) Tamale is also filled with NGOs. Northern Ghana is the poorest area in Ghana and is “developmentally” behind. The villages in this area are the poorest in the country, largely because Northern Ghana was ravaged during the slave trade and period of forced labor that followed.
The sounds of Tamale, and of all of Ghana, are a mixture of traditional and modern. In Tamale, the call to prayer from nearby mosques woke me at 4 am. Roosters, which hang out with goats everywhere in town, crow often, regardless of the time. Drivers honk their horns constantly to say hello, to see if you need a taxi, to warn people and animals to move out of their way, or to prevent collisions. Everyone responds to car horns instantly, even the goats. Cell phones ring constantly, and people almost always answer them. Mid-lecture, professors will excuse themselvesand take a call. The ring-tone selections are impressive.
We are back in Kumasi now and will be heading out to the villages for the next two weeks. I am apprehensive and very excited, the usual combination. Our group will be split into a few smaller groups and will live with families in the villages while we do a mini Independent Study Project of our choosing.

I leave you for the next two weeks with this, our program’s motto:

Enjoy your life.

2 Responses to “Tell me More, Good Sister, No Hurry in Life…”

  1. lori Says:

    Enjoy Your Life.

    An excellent reminder – thank you Sarah.

    Ohio expecting ice storm. Everyone has the flu, including me (sure can understand why the flu is dangerous to the elderly and to small children – I feel just plain miserable).

    Tomorrow Cher-wen has coordinated a mentor luncheon with alums who’ve done a lot of work internationbally (and in Africa) on HIV/AIDS. Tweleve student leaders invited. We will miss you!

    I love reading your blog. Thanks for the images and words.

    Cheerio!
    -L

  2. Doris Says:

    I too think it is important to Enjoy Your Life – after all it is the only one we will have. Grampa and I enjoyed Mexico and have rented a house there for five weeks next year! I thought maybe your Mom and I should come and visit you when your stay is over so you could show us around? I don’t know if she is up for it. Snow probably tonight, but today was nice – 37 degrees and sun.
    Obama lost Texas and Ohio – it is getting worrisome. Love, D.

Leave a comment